Doing Business In South Africa

ima logo

British High Commission in Pretoria

South Africa FCO Banner


High Commissioner:
Dame Nicola Brewer

British High Commission
255 Hill Street, Arcadia 0002, Pretoria, South Africa

Consular Section: 255 Hill Street, Arcadia 0002, Pretoria, South Africa

+27 (0) 12 421 7500

Enquiries: +27 (0) 12 421 7500 
Passport Enquiries: +44 (0) 208 082 4743
Visa Enquiries from within South Africa: 0861 837 221
Visa Enquiries from outside South Africa: +27 (0) 11 3996373

Switchboard: +27 (0) 12 421 7555
General Enquiries: +27 (0) 12 421 7599
Visa Enquiries: +27 (0) 12 421 7888
Passport Enquiries: +44 (0) 208  082 4743 (Mon-Fri 8-5pm)


Office hours:
Mon-Thurs: 0600-1500
Fri: 0600-1030

Local Time:
Mon-Thurs: 0800-1700
Fri: 0800-1230

Consular section:
Mon-Thurs: 0800-1200

Fax Enquiries: +27 (0) 86 535 5422

Regional Passport Processing Centre is closed to the public.

Out of hours, High Commission provides contact number.



Passport Enquiries:

Visa Enquiries:

Welcome to the profile of the British High Commission in South Africa.

The British High Commission in Pretoria represents British interests in South Africa, Lesotho and Swaziland. They help boost political, cultural, economic and social relations between them and the UK by offering a wide range of services and funding of various projects.

The High Commissioner to South Africa, Swaziland and Lesotho is Dame Nicola Brewer.

The British High Commission is split up into various different sections;


Trade & Investment Section

The Trade & Investment Section of the High Commission is the UK Government's trade and investment promotion vehicle. It is also responsible for trade policy and economic relations. They offer a number of services to help UK and South African companies and potential investors develop trade links between the two countries.

There are British Trade Offices in Johannesburg, Cape Town and Durban.


Consular Section

The British Consulate General in Cape Town works under the general direction of the British High Commission in Pretoria and serves the three Provinces of the Western Cape, Northern Cape and Eastern Cape.

There is a large British community in South Africa (approximately 1 million) and around 400,000 British visitors per annum. The main purpose of the Consular Section is to provide support and assistance to British Nationals who find themselves in difficult and distressed circumstances.


Political Section

The Political Section is responsible for political relations between the UK and South Africa.

They also handle trade policy and economic relations. The UK is committed to a strong partnership with South Africa and seeks to play a positive role in the country's political and economic development.

To find out more click here


Corporate Services Section

The Corporate Services section is responsible for all personnel, financial and administrative services & resources and provides support to all other sections.

Other sections at the British High Commission include; Defence Section & Communication Section


Other locations

Source - UKinSouthAfrica



HC Map




Strategic Partners